Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Standard

pbcookies9

So, I know it’s been a while since I have posted anything, but let me tell you, it’s not because I’m lazy.  Really, it’s not!!  I actually started helping my husband at his real estate office, and it’s been quite busy considering it is December.  Everyone is very friendly, so I like it, but it does take time away from my kitchen.

So on to cookies!!!  These peanut butter cookies are moist and peanuty-satisfying with big chunks of chocolate throughout.

Now to be honest, the way I ended up with these chocolate chunks  is kinda crazy.  It may be a problem that you have encountered, which is why I am pointing out my mistakes.  I just hate to waste a good ingredient, so even if I mess something up, I try to incorporate it somewhere else so at least it gets used.  So one day I was trying to melt some chocolate chips to dip different items in.  Instead of giving my chocolate chips a steam facial (double-boiler)  like is usually recommended to melt chocolate chips, I tried taking a short cut in the microwave.  Of course, I overheated my chocolate chips and it turned into big globs instead of smooth melted chocolate.  Instead of throwing it out, I left it in the bowl and put it in the refrigerator overnight.  What became of the chocolate was a big hunk of chocolate:

pbcookie7

I just love chocolate too much to throw it out, so I chopped up some big chunks and threw it into my peanut butter cookies.  Since you probably don’t have some overheated chocolate that has been cooled and waiting for you in the refrigerator, you can use chocolate chips, Hershey kisses roughly chopped, or buy a hunk of good chocolate from the grocery store.

pbcookies2

Start with a few basic cookie ingredients + peanut butter.

pbcookies1

Cream the butters and sugars.  Beat in the eggs. (I was feeling funky so I decided to paint my nails all crazy to match my funky chocolate!)

pbcookies6

A quick tip for measuring peanut butter is to spray your measuring cup with non-stick spray.  This ensures that you do not lose half of your peanut butter because it stuck to the bottom and sides of your measuring cup.

pbcookies10

In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients.  Slowly incorporate the flour mixture into the butter mixture.  Stir in the chocolate chunks.

pbcookies5

Bake in a 375 degree, pre-heated oven for approximately 10 minutes.  The edges will start to turn golden brown.  If your cookies are too crunchy after they are cooled, take the next batch out a minute or two earlier than the previous ones even though they might not looked all the way cooked.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup  butter
  • 1 cup crunchy or smooth peanut butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • chocolate chips, bars of chocolate, or Hershey’s kisses

Directions

  1. Cream together butter, peanut butter and sugars. Beat in eggs.
  2. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir into batter.  Stir in the chocolate chunks.
  3. Drop spoonfuls of dough on baking sheets.  Bake in a preheated 375 degrees F oven for about 10 minutes or until cookies begin to brown. Do not over-bake.
4 responses »

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of folks you actually recognize what you
    are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also talk to my site =).
    We might have a link change arrangement among us!

  2. Wow, incredible blog format! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?

    you made running a blog look easy. The overall look of your
    website is fantastic, let alone the content!

Leave a Reply

