Migas! Migas! Migas!

Standard

Since I first posted my salsa recipe, it’s only fitting that I give you something to eat with the salsa.  One of my favorite breakfast items is migas.  It even goes great with a few strips of leftover fajitas from barbecuing the night before .

I start by frying up my corn chips.  I take about 6 or 7 corn tortillas, stack them on top of each other, and I cut them into strips and then into cubes.

I fry them in oil until they are golden brown like this….

I had to fry a couple chips to eat with my salsa too since I had the oil going already!  After frying, place them on a paper towel to absorb some of the extra oil.  A little tip:  You are more than welcome to use all the little bits of broken corn tortilla chips that end up at the bottom of the bag that usually get thrown out.  If you are using thin tortilla chips, you want to wait until the very last minute to throw them in because, if not, they will easily get blended in with the eggs and will be almost non-existent.  Right before serving would be a great time to throw those thin chips in.

Before I get to forget to mention it, let’s talk about hot peppers for a second.  If you want your migas to be spicy, I would go with a jalapeno or serrano pepper in this dish.  If you like the pepper flavor without a lot of spicyness, if you have kids or in my case a Mexican husband who doesn’t like spicy foods (crazy, right?), I use poblano peppers.  Those are the big peppers that normally get stuffed with all kinds of goodies, then battered and fried to create chiles rellenos.  In my case, I use them in migas.

 

I use about half of one of those big poblano peppers and freeze the rest in a Ziploc bag for next time.  I chop that and about half of an onion and saute in oil until soft.  Once these are soft, I add either a chopped fresh tomato or a few leftover canned tomatoes from when I made the salsa if I’m out of fresh ones.

While the peppers and onions are cooking, I start getting the eggs ready.  I scramble them and pour into the onions and pepper mix.  When they are about halfway done cooking, I throw in my cheese.  I like to use Velveeta or a few American cheese slices to make it creamy but you can use cheddar…just remember, depending on the cheese you use, you will get a different texture and taste.

When the eggs are completely cooked and no longer runny, the migas are ready!  Serve either alone or on a taco.  Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

6-7 corn tortillas, cut into cubes

oil for frying

1/2 poblano pepper, seeded and chopped

1/2 onion, diced

garlic, salt, and pepper

1 fresh tomato, diced

10 eggs, scrambled

8 oz Velvetta, approx.

Fry the cubes of corn tortillas in oil until golden brown.  Drain on paper towels.  Use a few tablespoons of the leftover oil to saute the poblano and onion until the onion is translucent and the pepper is soft.  While cooking, season with garlic, salt and pepper as you like and scramble the eggs.  When the pepper/onion mix is cooked, add the tomato and scrambled eggs.  When the eggs are halfway done scrambling, add the cheese until almost melted.  Once the cheese is about completely melted, add the fried corn chips.  Serve alone or on a flour tortilla.

Leave a Reply

