Lazy Salsa – My first posting!!!

Standard

Welcome to my very first posting at inspiredbyLaRue.com!  I am so excited to share all my ideas with you guys!

My very first recipe is what, in my house, we call “lazy salsa.”  I chose this as my first recipe to share because I make it so frequently, and it is so easy to throw together.  You can make it as spicy or as mild as you want so it is very customize-able.  I should mention that this was originally my mother’s recipe that she started making years ago with fresh tomatoes from her garden.  If I get the chance to visit my mother during her tomato season, I usually go home with lots of tomatoes and use those instead of canned ones.

I’m sure you’re wondering why I call this “lazy salsa.”  I know….it seems kinda random, but there is an actual reason for my weird salsa name madness.  My mother-in-law likes to come visit frequently and started calling it lazy salsa whenever she found out I put everything in my blender, thinking I should cook it on the stove.  Since then, the name stuck with the recipe , and it has become somewhat of a joke between all of us.

Whatever you choose to call it, I think it’s “delicious” salsa.  With only a few ingredients and the fact that it takes only a few minutes to make, this is a definite keeper!

What you need:

  • 2 large cans (about 28 oz.) whole peeled tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 bunch of cilantro, washed and patted dry
  • 1/2 onion, roughly chopped in large pieces
  • juice from 1/2 lime or lemon
  • 1 tsp. salt   *See Tip 1 *
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • a few fresh jalapenos *See Tip 2 *

Directions:

After draining the tomatoes, gently squeeze out most of the liquid inside the tomatoes. (This helps your salsa not be so watery.)  Place in the blender and puree for a few seconds.  Place all other ingredients in the blender and blend for approximately one minute.

The longer this sits, the more the flavors blend together, so it’s best to make at least 15-30 minutes before serving…although you can certainly eat it before then.

*Tip 1: One quick note about the jalapenos!  Some varieties of jalapenos are mild and some are very hot.  Since it’s hard to tell just by looking at the jalapenos, you might want to start with one jalapeno and taste the salsa before adding any more.  I just keep adding jalapenos, usually I use about 3, til I am happy with the spicyness.  After a day or two in the refrigerator, it will get a little hotter as it sits.

*Tip 2: Keep in mind some chips are saltier than others.  If you have extremely salty chips, you may want to use a tiny bit less salt in your salsa.

21 responses »

  1. You’re so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read something like that before. So nice to find someone with some original thoughts on this subject. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is something that’s needed on
    the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  2. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue with your
    website in web explorer, might test this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a huge component to people will pass over your wonderful writing because of this problem.

  3. Hey there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  4. Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  5. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make
    your point. You definitely know what youre talking
    about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when
    you could be giving us something informative to read?

  6. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your
    post’s to be just what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome blog!

  7. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I
    stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be exciting to read through articles from other authors and practice a little something from other websites.

Leave a Reply

